Netzu

So this is what it feels like to have the flu. I have only
heard the term “it feels like you have been hit by a truck” but
never quite understood it, since I always think one should be dead
by then and mercifully unaware of all bodily sensations. Fevers,
body aches and chills. Not fun. Panadol has become my new best
friend. Also the virus is now making its merry way through my
family. My mum who takes pride in being the health conscious one
was utterly horrified when she got hit by the triad of symptoms
last night. My brother who for unknown reasons, is regarded as the
health barometer of the family, started to exhibit the first signs
of the illness. Only my dad remains smug because he is unscathed –
but for now he has been assigned the role of running errands
including getting our breakfast. Ha. I was thinking about the
source of all these problems and I know who I caught this from.
Before I left Japan, the American who was also living with the same
homestay family as us suddenly fell ill with fevers. I was pretty
surprised as fevers in young fit males are not very common plus the
downhill process was pretty dramatic for him. I was cautious
because I know there is a strong possibility I will catch it. And I
did. Great. When I flew into Japan earlier this month, all incoming
travelers were required to walk through a thermal scan. Those with
high temperatures were stopped – not sure what happened to them. Do
they get sent back with a refund? Anyway all these makes me nervous
about returning to the Workland although from memory they never had
thermal scanners. The other concerning thing was I recalled reading
in the Japanese papers that they found signs of avian flu in wild
birds (http://search.japantimes.co.jp/cgi-bin/nn20101220a2.html)
Although it was a different prefecture to where I was and certainly
the Japanese government has it under control, it still feels too
uncomfortably close. And the homestay lady mentioned that she had
used free range chickens to prepare our Christmas eve dinner (it
was sumptuous I have to add); at the back of my mind I can’t help
but wonder where the chickens came from. Aha. Anyway I’m feeling
much better. Had been taken out the better of the first three days
since I have been back. I just have to be patient and ride this
out. I’m just mighty concern that I will not be 100% right when I
hop off the plane in the Workland to make the 10 hour return
journey to retrieve my dog. (And yes, I will not be boarding my dog
so far away from now on.)

-posted from my iPhone (hence the crappy layout)

Leave a Reply

