Random thoughts

I bought fifteen new novels. Come again?! Yup, fifteen. Nine from Borders – they were having this massive clearance sale, and having spent close to 45 minutes on the 3 for 2 or each book for $6.99 table, i managed to dig out some pretty good books that i am after. And today, we went to the Asian district (for all good Asian food and Asian stuff) where i dropped by the bookshop, and lo and behold, i found another six books at a bargain price of $6 each or 5 for $25. Even my mum who over the years, has lost her habit of reading got psyched up and purchased a Danielle Steel book. The full booklist can be found here.

Anyway, like i mentioned before, any book below the price of $8 is usually going to be cheaper than Book Depository, so my purchases were completely justified. Plus the new bookshelves my parents bought me look pretty forlorn (and my parents were starting to comment that really i am needlessly spending money if i did not have the books to place on the shelves – i think the concept of accumulating books throughout the years may be a bit foreign to them since they think buying novels are not very good financial investments. They have even gingerly hinted that maybe i should consider the prospect of selling the books i have read. They only stopped when i said one of the books cost nearly $200). Plus i was getting the itch to do some retail therapy and i could not do it on Book Depository since i will be heading overseas for a month next week. I will miss the deliveries and they will be sent back. As it is, i am a tad worried that my last delivery from Abe Books has yet to arrive. It is almost one and a half months. Although they did say the delivery can take up to 45 days, i really did not believe it will take the FULL 45 days. Now i am not so sure…

I was also introduced to an Asian DVD store by my brother’s girlfriend and bought a couple more Chinese martial arts and history shows. Also bought a few Japanese dramas. I am just a little miffed that it is so difficult to buy DVDs from overseas online retailers. Apparently there is a region on the DVD player that can only play certain DVDs. Yet despite checking my DVD player innumerable times, i failed to find this classification on it. DVDs bought from the Homeland played fine on it so i am not sure what the warning is all about. Still, i am too stingy to try.

I am deciding if i should send the dog to the boarding kennel this Friday or on Sunday. I am leaving on Tuesday, the parents are leaving on Sunday. The trip to the boarding kennel will take the whole day (don’t ask why the hell i keep boarding my dog at a place that is a five hour one way drive). The point is i know i am going to get very restless and lonely when the dog is gone by Friday. Sunday night, Monday and Tuesday i will be by myself at home and i will not be able to stand the silence. I will not even be able to do anything i like because i will be missing my dog the whole time. I was thinking of rushing things by sending the dog only on Monday but i think that may be pushing it too far. A ten hour drive by myself in the night may not be in the best interests for everyone. Oh well, i just have to suck it up i suppose.

I need to re-look into my Japan itinerary. I have not looked at it since i arranged all the accommodation in August but right now i should be re-checking what places i want to visit and the time limit. Also i vaguely remember certain places require ticket reservations and i don’t know if we are too late already. What i do know we have managed to arrange, is a skiing lesson for my friend and a snowboarding lesson for myself on one of the mornings before we go do some amateur snow sports. Woot!

I have also been finding it a tad difficult to commit more time to my languages. I am determined to take the DELE (Level A1) next year but i can’t find any practice papers. I am hoping my mum would be able to help (she has a former classmate who married a Spaniard and is now residing at the other side of the world). My Spanish tutor and i are working hard on my grasp of the vocabulary at the moment. Also going to keep my eyes peeled open for JLPT books that i can’t easily source here. (OMFG! THEY CHANGED THE EXAM FORMAT??!!)

As for the piano teacher, i am going to formally contact them next year when the piano arrives. It will be a bit difficult to explain why i am calling them inquiring about lessons now, when i am only going to commence learning next year. My flute playing has improved and amazingly it has to do with posture. I am not going to invest in a new flute just because i think the hefty price tag of $2000 for a new instrument is not justifiable for a mere grade 1 to 2 advancement. I am just going to send my flute for a service.

That’s all that is happening in my life at the moment.

I am really excited about graduation. But i have not yet found the time, the energy and the peace to slowly reflect, analyze and contemplate this mad journey through medical school. I reckon i can’t put it off anymore lest i regret it.

Leave a Reply

