The pot calling the kettle black

BJJ intructor: Hi Spud, you haven’t been in for the past few weeks. Having exams?

Me: Yup, exams. And then i had an eye injury from soccer.

I gestured to my left eye.

BJJ instructor looked horrified.

BJJ instructor: You should stay away from soccer, it is dangerous!

I looked at him and tried to suppress an amused smile.

We are after all talking about BJJ right? The sport that gives me a line of bruises on each of my legs every training. Bruises that force me to don long pants most days because i do not like fending off questions. However, i have to admit that i sustain more severe injuries with soccer. That infamous blow to my head was nothing i have ever felt in martial arts.

Leave a Reply

