Generic medication

Generic medication is cheaper, though not original. We like generic medications when they are available, because it means more patients can afford them. There is better compliance, and perhaps better outcomes. Last week, i went to the pharmacy to get some anti-diarrheal medication. I am a poor student therefore cheaper is better. I knew exactly what i needed. There were two brands, and you guessed it. A generic one, and an original one. The price difference was stark. Except i found myself hesitating. My other friend shot me a knowing look. I bought the original medication instead of the generic one. It has made me wonder whether i am advocating double standards. Obviously generic medication is in no way less inferior than its original counterpart, yet marketing and irrational reasoning have prompted me to choose the non-generic medication. I cannot explain this phenomenon.

